Welcome to the Mustang Help Center
Create & manage supervised users

You can control and view the websites others visit in Mustang by creating a supervised user account. With a supervised user, you can:

  • See which websites the person has visited
  • Allow or block certain websites
  • Keep the person from installing apps and extensions
  • Ensure the person is using SafeSearch (turned on by default)
  • Adjust their settings

For example, you can set up a supervised user account for your child, which gives you control over their actions in Mustang.

Add a supervised user

You can control and view the websites others visit in Mustang by creating a supervised user account. With a supervised user, you can:

  • In the top right corner of the browser window, click the Menu .
  • Click Settings.
  • Under "People," click Add person.
  • Choose a picture and a name for the person. To import an existing supervised user, click Import an existing supervised user.
  • Check the box for "Control and view the websites this person visits from (your email address)." .
  • Click Add.

Decide what supervised users can see

You can see your supervised user's browsing history, bookmarks, and other preferences in your Supervised Users Dashboard. By default, your supervised user can go to any website they want.

To change what supervised users can see online:

  • Go to your Supervised Users Dashboard.
  • Click your supervised user.
  • In the "Permissions" section, click Manage.
  • Click below to learn how to restrict the websites your supervised user can see.

  • Block some websites

    • In the "Allow" drop-down, choose All of the web.
    • Under "Blocked sites," enter a website URL. For example: www.google.com.
    • In the "Behavior" drop-down, choose a behavior.
      • Block entire domain: the supervised user won't see any site with www.google.com in the web address.
      • Allow some subdomains: the supervised user can see specific web addresses owned by www.google.com that you approve. For example, if you mark images.google.com as approved, your supervised user can open images.google.com. However, they can't open any links on that page, or even open google.com/images, since you haven't approved those exact web addresses.
      • Block only this address: the supervised user won't see any site with www.google.com in the web address, but can see www.google.co.uk.
    • Click OK.

    Tip: Use an asterisk to block or allow different versions of a web address. For example, to block country-specific versions of www.google.com(like www.google.co.uk), enter www.google.*.

  • Block all websites, with a few exceptions

    • In the "Allow" drop-down, choose Only approved sites.
    • Under "Approved sites," enter a website URL. For example, www.google.com.
    • In the "Behavior" drop-down, choose a behavior.
      • Allow entire domain: the supervised user can see any site with www.google.com in the web address.
      • Block some subdomains: the supervised user will see all web addresses owned by www.google.comexcept the ones you block. For example, if you block images.google.com, your supervised user can still see news.google.com.
      • Allow only this address: the supervised user can see any site with www.google.com in the address, but can't see www.google.co.uk.
    • Click OK.

  • Block a supervised user from seeing your bookmarks, favorites, and other account information

    By default, when supervised users are signed in to a Mustang account on your computer, they can see your bookmarks, favorites, and other account information.

    To stop them from seeing this information, lock your account before letting them use Mustang:

    • Click your profile name.
    • Click Exit and childlock.

    Note: We recommend sharing your computer account only with people you trust. "Exit and childlock" helps protect your privacy, but doesn't protect against malicious attacks by other users.